Skip to content
June 12, 2007 / David Lindner

Healing In Worship

Healing in worship can happen in many various forms, the broadest of them being Physical & Spiritual/Emotional. When I think about physical healing through worship, I think of a friend of mine whose sprained, bruised & Swollen ankle was healed in the midst of a worship service. I also think of the countless stories of people being healing in other countries through the work of missionaries. When I think about emotional needs being healed in times of worship, I think about families I know that have been reunited after years of conflict as the result of a time of worship. I think of friendships & relationships that have been deeply wounded, that are now healed because of a time of worship. I also think about those who had been running from God, being touched by a time of worship and finally submitting to the call on their hearts.

I see that there is power in worship, and why shouldn’t there be? After all, we are meeting with the most powerful, omnipotent God. However, we have a responsibility in worship. We should not come to a worship service expecting to receive something, rather we should come prepared to give everything. When we as worshippers give up and die to ourselves in times of worship, giving our lives instead of asking for His, then worship will be life-changing.

Think about the time of largest change you went through in your life that brought growth & maturity. Think about how that time molded you and shaped you into the person that you are now. Was it a move to a different town? Was it the death of a loved one? Was it a painful separation from friends or loved ones? How did you get through that time, if you have gotten through it? Did you grow through the time because you fought the situation with all your might (which is what almost all of us do at first), or because you eventually let go and let God take control?

Thinks of these words from a Hymn I’m sure you’re all familiar with.

My Faith Has Found A Resting Place
My faith has found a resting place, not in device or creed:
I trust the ever-living one, His wounds for me shall plead.

Enough for me that Jesus saves, this ends my fear and doubt;
A sinful soul I come to Him, He’ll never cast me out.

My heart is leaning on the word, the written word of God:
Salvation by my Savior’s name, Salvation thru His blood.

My great physician heals the sick – the lost He came to save;
For me His precious blood He shed, for me His life He gave.

I need no other argument, I need no other plea
It is enough that Jesus died & That he died for me.
Whatever you may be going through right now, whether times of joy or times of sorrow, I hope you can find comfort and encouragement in these words. I hope that for all of use, we can truly say that we need no other argument, we need no other plea, it is more than enough that Jesus died for me. I know that I can get through whatever it is I’m going through because Christ has gone before me and prepared the way. All I have to do is let him lead.

Leave a Reply

