Skip to content
February 15, 2008 / David Lindner

Starting Over

A little over three months ago, I started a new job. When I started the job, I thought it would be great to journal along the way all the things that are going on, things that are working in terms of creating new systems and things that didn’t work. I thought it would be great to be able to look back and see over time how things were progressing and see what I had learned along the way.

Good intentions.

So, I didn’t do it right off the bat, but I’m going to try to look back over the last three months to see what I can remember of what did and didn’t work.

When I first started there, the first couple of weeks were spent with the guy who was at the church before me. He was showing me the ropes of the new church and helping me get my feet on the ground. In many ways it was very helpful. There are things that probably would have taken me 2 -3 times longer to pick up or understand had I not had his help.

One thing I was surprised at myself about though was my lack of assertion. In many ways I like to view myself as an assertive person, but I, for some reason, just couldn’t assert myself in this situation. I think a large part of it was due to the fact that I wanted to respect the guy I was replacing. I did respect him and didn’t want to do or say anything that would offend. There were times, however, when I probably should have asserted myself a little more so I could have learned a little bit more from him before I was off on my own.

I do have to say though, that once I was on my own, I was quite relieved. As much as I respected my predecessor, we have very different work styles. It was only for two weeks, which made it okay. However, it did cause me to think about the future. If I were to ever be in the position to hire someone that would serve as an assistant or require working along with this person quite a bit, I would need to find a way make sure our work styles were fairly similar.

Those first two weeks were quite fun however, it was fun to work with someone else doing worship arts ministry stuff together. It would be nice to have someone to work with in the area from time to time. However our church, and most churches don’t afford such an opportunity.

What did I learn during these first couple of weeks? One of the things I learned was that in a church where the pace is much faster than what I was used to, it really helps to have someone to guide you through getting your feet on the ground. If I had been dropped into that position without anyone to guide me along, I probably wouldn’t have been able to get up and running nearly as quickly.

Another thing I learned is that I still have plenty of room for learning and growth in the area of Worship Arts Ministry. There are many things I still need to improve on. Having someone else working alongside me helped me to compare myself to his skills. Though we have different work styles and personalities, our jobs do require many of the same skills, and I was able to see areas where he was much stronger than I and I really need to improve in.

I’m sure there’s more that I learned from that time, but that’s a start.

Leave a Reply

