Skip to content
February 18, 2008 / David Lindner

Lessons from the Eagle

This last weekend in our worship services, I was trying make a connection in the beginning of the worship time to the point that our pastor would be making that day. He was talking about faith and trust. So I was trying to connect that in our worship time with some songs and scripture and a story. The story was about me. On my way to work, I drive by a river and in that river are posts (the ones sticking up out of the water to keep boats from running ashore), and on one of these posts is an eagle’s nest. It’s actually a bald eagle’s nest. It’s pretty cool. I’ve often wondered what it would be like to see what that eagle sees in a day. What would it be like to fly high above the river, see for miles, and then be able to swoop down with amazing accuracy and have the ability to catch a fish. What would it be like? I think it would be amazing. And I was trying to relate that to Isaiah 40:31, those who hope in the Lord, trust in the Lord will renew their strength, they will soar with wings like eagles.

Not a bad idea right? In fact, it something that I am a big, even huge proponent of. I really believe that the whole service from beginning to end should be connected. However, in 2 out of the three services, I completely botched up what I was trying to say, I wasn’t able to remember the words for the post sticking out of the water. It was a great moment. One I hope not to have to live through again.

It’s not as though I wasn’t prepared for what I was going to say, I had given quite a bit of thought to what I was going to say, and even did some research. But for some reason, it just would not come out right. And I know some of the reasons why.

A big reason why though, is actually ironic. A lot of times when I’ve spoken in the past, I’ve written out word for word almost everything that I was going to say. Then, I would basically try to memorize the speech. That’s pretty much what I did this last weekend. I had written almost everything I had wanted to say, but I didn’t want to present it as though I was reading it. I hadn’t internalized the medium. The reason this is ironic is because, if I would have had a different perspective it would have helped me present it much more effectively.

The moral of the story, not only do we need to internalize the medium, but we to be so familiar and comfortable with the what it is we’re trying to present that it’s a part of us. When we’re speaking out of something that’s a part of who we are, it’s much easier to present it in an engaging way.

Not super deep, I know, but still a thought.

Leave a Reply

