Skip to content
February 25, 2008 / David Lindner

Worship Arts Ministry – Service Evaluation

This weekend was different. We have some newer musicians that I’m putting with some of the other more experienced musicians. So, the sound was good, but maybe not as good as other weekends. One of the things that I’ve found is that it’s a bad idea to have a band full of moderately skilled musians, it’s usually a lot more work and the potential for something to go wrong, or a cue to be missed are much greater. So, what I try to do is put Moderates with advanced when possible. The Advanced ones hold the group together and provide support and stability to the group, and the moderates often want to strive to be better because they’re playing with more skilled musicians.

I don’t know what it was about this weekend, but it didn’t have the same feel as other weekends. It wasn’t a bad thing, but it also wansn’t a great thing. It felt very disjointed on stage. I’m sure a part of it was that we don’t all know each other that well, and that will change over time. We didn’t have as much time to rehearse as we needed and there were technichal problems that didn’t help.

I think the service was fine, but it too had a weird vibe to it. I know that God is wanting to do things in and through our church and I have a feeling that there is stronger than normal battle going on right now, and that is playing into this feeling.

I was trying to talk more in the service this weekend, I really struggle with this. I would like to have more discussion on this topic with other worship leaders. Some worship leaders talk too much, others talk too little. I was definately erring on the side of too little, so now I’ll have to be careful not to jump too far in the other direction. I need to talk, as do all worship leaders to help be a “tour guide” for the journey that we’re wanting to take people on, but I don’t want to be “that” tour guide that everyone gets annoyed with and wish would just shut up.

Anyway, those are a few of my thoughts about this weekend.

Leave a Reply

