Skip to content
April 3, 2008 / David Lindner

Your Organizing Style

I’ve been thinking about this some more, and I wanted to further help, if I can. I’m by nature a very disorganized person, I’ve had to learn some things about organization and find styles that work for me in order to get anything done, not lost things, etc.

The following resource has been great for me. This lady’s name is Suzanne, and she offers some practical advice for getting organized based on your organizational style. What this means is that you don’t have to be organized like the person next to you. You don’t have to be organized like your spouse (though it’s very beneficial to try to find systems that will work for the both of you), you don’t have to be organized like your boss or co-workers, parents or siblings.

It is important to be trying to improve on your organization. I’m far better at being organized that I used to be. However, many would view my office as being a mess. But, to me, it’s far better than it used to be, and the important thing is that I’m getting better.

http://www.letstalkorganizing.com/organizing_styles.htm#Visual
So, how about you, are you trying to get better? Is your procrastination accidental? Or, if you were being honest is it because you (we) are just being lazy, it’s something we really don’t want to do, but need to, so we put it off. If that’s the case it’s a completely different issue. However, one of the things I’ve noticed about me is that, the more organized I get, and the more I can stay on top of certain things, the less I put things off.

One of the reasons I’ve procrastinated is because a project seems too huge for me to be able to accomplish in one setting. And that’s usually true. I like things that bring me instant gratification. It took me a while to be able to appreciate delayed gratification. But as I’ve improved in my organization, I’ve learned to be able to chip away at a project, and to appreciate getting it done over time. The more organized I get, the less I procrastinate.

I’m still messy, I still procrastinate, but I’m getting better.

Leave a Reply

