Skip to content
April 9, 2008 / David Lindner

Idol Gives Back?

Idol gives back just started, actually it started 30 minutes ago, which is kind of bizarre, and I’m wondering if this whole thing is a good idea. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for charity, but I’m not sure this sort of charity is the best thing for the people they’re ultimately trying to help.

I can’t be sure of how the money is going to help these kids, maybe if I listen to the show, and stop typing I’ll find out. I’m sure there are many great organizations who will be using the money wisely, I hope all of them will. However, if we’re just giving them money to buy food and shelter, instead of helping them build a society in which they can earn money to buy food and shelter, I disagree.

Don’t get me wrong, my heart breaks for the kids who are starving, and the kids who desperately need a home, and a few dollars could change their lives for the better, and I think that’s great as long as at some point, at a certain maturity level these same kids are begin taught what they need to know to survive.

This is why I love missions, and why I love the church supporting missions. Giving our money to missionaries who are living in the culture and trying to teach them how to change their lives forever is awesome. And I love adoption, where people like my brother and a couple in our church adopt kids from other countries and give them a life they would never have been able to have. It’s permanent change, and it’s teaching them what they need to know. It’s not a handout.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. bekkilindner / Apr 10 2008 6:35 pm

    I’ve never thought about it that way before…Intriguing David, and I think you have a very good point…definitely worth discussion.

Leave a Reply

