Skip to content
July 7, 2008 / David Lindner

Weekend Review – 07-0506-08

This weekend was a great weekend. Once again, our Lead Pastor played acoustic guitar. And we had the rest of the band there as well. We were fully loaded this weekend, and it made a huge difference in terms of how people responded in worship (At least it seemed to). I think there’s power in having a full band, and an energy that you can’t get any other way. Even if you can have the sounds of a full band, I think there’s still something missing if nothing else than energy that comes from people worshiping on stage.

Saturday night was a little rough, we didn’t have time in the rehearsal to really nail down transitions, we just have time to work up the songs. I realized that we hadn’t had time for transitions when we got about half way through the first song. So, that aspect of the worship time was a little rough.

At another point, we had barely rehearsed the beginning of “All Who are Thirsty” having the drums start the song, but not enough to get it solidified in the drummers head – my fault. So, when I looked at him to start the song, he shook his head, and I had to start the song. Well, my fear of long, awkward pauses in worship services took over, and I just started the song without even pausing for a second to find the tempo in my head. The song was BLAZING fast. That one was all me. The intro for Mighty to Save was supposed to start while I sustained the chord for All Who are Thirsty. We didn’t practice it this way, however, so I had to turn around and nod at the Electric Guitarist – again – all me.

Needless to say, on Sunday morning, I came in early, listened to the recording of Saturday night’s service, and made some notes of things we needed to fix in our rehearsal on Sunday morning. And we did. Sunday morning was great. Nearly all transitions were smooth, and the overall feel coming from the band was much more confident than it was on Saturday Night. I recognize that confidence isn’t a luxury we have right now. We have suspended weekday rehearsals for the summer, leaving us only one rehearsal on Saturday afternoon. So, I know I’m going to have to continue to expect situations like this. However, I also recognize that I need to make sure I do everything I can to help the band succeed.

All in all, it was a great weekend. It’s nice to be able to do songs in the style they were written and not have to do a bunch of modifications to them to make them work with what we have.

But, by far the best part of the weekend was when people responded in worship. It was great to see that people were connecting with God, and that God was using us in that way. Sometimes it’s hard to remember in the moment and even after the services what I say to people all the time. We’re not the point. God is the point, and our objective is to connect people to God. If that happened, we succeeded.

Leave a Reply

