Skip to content
July 15, 2008 / David Lindner

Weekend Review 07-1213-08

Our Senior Pastor has the itch to play guitar. This week, he told a story in his sermon about how he learned to play guitar. He learned the wrong way, so, he had to relearn how to play the guitar. It felt uncomfortable at first, but eventually it became natural. He related this to how when God asks us to do something in following Him, at first it might feel unnatural, but eventually it will feel natural and our old way of living will feel unnatural. So, he closed the service leading the closing song from the guitar. The combination of him playing guitar and relating it to his story had a tremendous impact on many people. It also helped solidify the point in people’s minds.

Our worship order for this last weekend was the following:

  • Awesome is the Lord
  • Welcome and Announcements
  • Take My Life (Passion Hymns Arr.)
  • Breathe
  • Communion
  • Lord, I give you My Heart
  • Message
  • Everyday

We had a four piece band, Keys, Acoustic, Bass & Drums, and it worked really well. I’m starting to venture out a little on the keyboard. I’ve done this at times in the past, but it’s really starting to work well. I have a keyboard (very fortunately) that helps facilitate this as well. I’ve never considered myself a B-3 player, but I like to use it to add some texture, especially when we’re missing and electric guitar. So, that’s what I’ve been doing. I am fortunate enough to have the Yamaha Motif XS-8, which allows me to fade in/out sounds which smooths out the transition. Yes I know there are other ways to do this, which I will be looking into in the future, but for now this is working great.

It was a great weekend, it was great to do Breathe, that’s a song that’s been in my penalty box for a long time, (years) and it was powerful to lead it this weekend, and the congregation really responded to the song, as well as really responded to the correlation between the song and communion that our associate pastor made.

It wasn’t a weekend that many people will remember for years to come (Maybe for some it was), but we definitely got on base.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. bekkilindner / Jul 22 2008 5:01 pm

    I love your heart, and love to see you lead, and I know you impact many people each week. I’m proud to be your wife, and grateful to be led in worship by you weekly.

Leave a Reply

