Skip to content
August 17, 2008 / David Lindner

Weekend Review 08-1617-08

This week was great, we had a great worship time with a trio of musicians up there for the weekend. Keys, Bass & Drums. No vocalists except for me. And it turned out pretty good. The upside – I got to experiment with my coldplay keys technique and try to come up with some catchy hooks for some of the songs that are normally acoustic or electric driven, so that was kind of fun. At the same time, doing that takes away from my ability to focus solely on leading people in worship. If we had another vocalist who could lead some of the songs that would have helped quite a bit.

Here was our Set:

  • All The Earth Will Sing Your Praises
  • God is Great
  • Welcome
  • Trading My Sorrows
  • Blessed be Your Name
  • Message
  • Heart of Worship

We did some old songs and some newer songs. The first two songs are still somewhat new to the congregation (even though they’re not new). It was a good weekend. Last night seemed to lack energy, but this morning did not. It felt as though people were really engaging and choosing to worship.

I do have to say though that I’m looking forward to next weekend when we’ll have a full band. It should be really good!

For more Worship Service Reviews Click Here!

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rick / Aug 17 2008 1:58 pm

    Interesting–I did a little keys thing this morning on one of our songs that I figured out later was ripped off from Coldplay. Oh well…guess nothing we do is really original!

  2. Billy Chia / Aug 17 2008 4:36 pm

    I talked about Coldplay earlier in the week on my blog. We had a big band today, but I love scaling back also. A few weeks ago we did keys, bass, drums and violin.

  3. A. / Aug 17 2008 6:33 pm

    Great song list! Most every song on your setlist from today is a favorite of mine. 🙂

  4. Rob Petrini / Aug 18 2008 8:23 am

    Great songlist David… I’m interested to know how you present new songs to the congregation. Our church is in transition from a traditional style of worship to a contemporary style, (reflecting pretty much the change in the demographics or our area as well) and I’ve kind of struggled with bringing the change about.

  5. Paul J. / Aug 18 2008 9:04 pm

    Is that “God Is Great” from Hillsong?

  6. Gary Durbin / Aug 20 2008 5:33 pm

    great set. it’s good to mix it up now and again with the band.

  7. L.L. Barkat / Sep 1 2008 11:58 am

    Hi there, David.

    Though I recently sent you a High Calling welcome letter, I also wanted to stop by and just say hello.

    Worship music. I am so behind in this area. Well, actually I’m behind on music in general. Life got in the way for a long time. But now I’m trying to find things I enjoy. Have you heard Brian Moss? I love his music. I’m listening to it as I type.

Leave a Reply

